Underinsured Motorist Insurance: What it means to you…
What Underinsured Motorist Insurance Means to You.
Every driver in West Virginia is required to have uninsured motorist insurance coverage in the minimum amount of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per occurrence. In most states, underinsured coverage would come with that, but according to the Charleston WV personal injury attorneys at Freeman & Chiartas, that doesn’t happen in West Virginia. Underinsured motorist insurance must be purchased separately from uninsured motorist insurance. Here’s why you should have it and what it means to you.
If you have underinsured motorist insurance, coverage is triggered when you exhaust the policy limits of the person who caused your accident and injuries. For example, if you suffered a herniated disc in your neck that required surgery after you were rear-ended, your medical bills can easily exceed $50,000. If the person who caused your accident and injuries was only carrying $25,000 of liability insurance, you can make a claim with your own insurance pursuant to your $100,000 of underinsured motorist insurance that you purchased. Without sufficient underinsured motorist coverage, it’s unlikely that you would be fairly compensated for your damages.
Take notice that your own insurance company is not likely to want to pay you all that you are due, even if you have been with it for 15 or 20 years. Its objective is to invest premium checks to make even more money, and then, pay out as little as possible on claims. That is what keeps shareholders happy. You will want to speak with an attorney who is respected by insurance defense lawyers and judges from a personal injury law firm Charleston West Virginia as soon as you can.
It won’t cost you a penny to speak with us either. Just contact a Charleston WV personal injury lawyer from Freeman & Chiartas for a free consultation and case review on any possible underinsured motorist claim anywhere in or around Charleston.